First things first: If you delete your text messages, port your phone number away, or cancel your service, your messages will be permanently deleted and we will not be able to restore them. There is no way to access your old texts once they are gone. We recommend having your messages forwarded to your email address for backup storage just in case.
Otherwise, text messages are stored indefinitely for the life of your account.
MMS files (pictures, videos, etc) are deleted after 730 days or 2 years.
Note that, while your messages are stored securely in your account, this is not currently compliant with HIPAA regulations.
Also, note that we updated our retention policy for MMS in June of 2021. Prior to that date, we only retained MMS files for 60 days. Any files sent or received prior to June 2021 have been deleted. Files received or sent after that date are stored for 2 years.
Need to know how to delete text messages? Check out this article: